MY LOVE HAS REMAINED, Pamela Sayers

My Love Has Remained
by Pamela Sayers

I love you though your eyes
go off to suffer in vain
like suspects on an inky surface
in desolation’s death

I love you in flames
destroyed
there
against the wall
against the city
against the sun and wind
my love has remained
a warrior trapped in our memories
fingers twisted in the air

Beautiful fruit of silent November days
breathes when the voice of a woman goes looking
for nakedness with irreparable eyes
that open like a river of pebbles plummeting
against the bend
of clay beneath my feet.

Pamela’s note: “My Love Has Remained” will live with me forever. It is dedicated to my husband, Michael.

2 thoughts on “MY LOVE HAS REMAINED, Pamela Sayers

Leave a Reply

