TO THE THREE TEMPLE BELLS HUNG ON MY NEW SPARE ROOM’S DOORKNOB, Therese Broderick

To the Three Temple Bells Hung On My New Spare Room’s Doorknob
by Therese Broderick

Altogether now, not too loudly,
let’s ring out my former
Storage Room–
my parents’ chairs, lamps, wall mirrors
and too many years of photo frames;
and my Office painted green–
that Macintosh console I hauled home
then sold too cheaply one December;
and my wallpapered Nursery–
those longest nights of my life dangling
the faces on a checkered mobile;
and my off-white Vacancy–
brand new room, upstairs, back corner,
south sun when we both moved in
that June weekend I chimed vows,
chimed promises to him
to stay in one place.

Therese’s process notes:
When writing poems, I strive to envoice “thought-sounding”, the sound of mind-in-action, the tidal murmurings of feeling. One of my composition strategies is to study and emulate the work of other poets who have already mastered that intimate tone. Most of my poems blend three elements: Autobiography; a turn away from The Actual for the sake of The Art; and homages to the examples of other poets.

Therese L. Broderick has contributed to her poetry community (Albany, New York) for 14 years in various roles—writer, reader, teacher, critique buddy, classroom guest, judge, and Board volunteer.

Therese blogs at Poet Apace.

One thought on “TO THE THREE TEMPLE BELLS HUNG ON MY NEW SPARE ROOM’S DOORKNOB, Therese Broderick

Leave a Reply

