FORT ANDROS FLEA MARKET: CHRISTENING DRESS: CIRCA 1895, Grace Harriman

Fort Andros Flea Market: Christening Dress: Circa 1895
by Grace Harriman

I bought the tiny dress as a rescue
From the crush of chunky costume earrings, rusted Tonka trucks and soiled teddy bears.

I saved the dress from dirty suffocation
Amid 50 years of hoarded human trash.

When she was washed, starched, ironed
She seemed to take a long look at me,
But said nothing.

I wrapped her in crisp tissue paper,
Wary she might come alive
To tell the short tale
I could not bear to hear.

Folded, she fits in the palms
Of my joined hands.
The tiny package
Radiates forgiveness
for my most brutal mistake.

Grace Harriman lives in Bath, Maine and is writing a great deal since she retired from teaching.

3 thoughts on “FORT ANDROS FLEA MARKET: CHRISTENING DRESS: CIRCA 1895, Grace Harriman

  1. Oh, wow! Grace…what a small world…I’m writing from Bath Maine as well!!

    I saw your title and said wha…wait a minute… šŸ˜‰

    This is charged with life..your descriptions and emotive ending bring the tingle that only great poems do…I really enjoyed this, Grace…thank you.

  2. This retired teacher from Vermont’s Northeast Kingdom is digging this, too. For what it’s worth, I have also visited flea markets, come away with treasures that inspired. Well done, Ms Harriman

Leave a Reply

