MODEH ANI, Wayne-Daniel Berard

modeh ani
by Wayne-Daniel Berard

g*d is reborn
in me each morning
I gasp a little
for the breath
h* tosses to me
I catch the
tidal wave of
the day looms
breaks over me
and g*d sputters
splashes and says
“*’m back! *’m here!
it wasn’t a dream!
oh thank you thank
you whoever you are!”
“let’s talk abo*t th*t”
I whisper

Note: “modeh ani” is titled for the Jewish prayer upon awakening, in which G*d is thanked for returning one’s soul to one’s body that morning.

Wayne-Daniel Berard teaches English and Humanities at Nichols College in Dudley, MA. He is co-founder and co-editor of Soul-Lit, and on-line journal of spiritual poetry. He lives in Mansfield, MA with his wife, The Lovely Christine.

One thought on “MODEH ANI, Wayne-Daniel Berard

  1. “Modeh ani” prayer upon awakening, in which G*d is thanked for returning one’s soul to one’s body that morning. Your poem gives a different interpretation to (Christian) gratitude upon awaking… for me it is deeper and broader and Oh, so, lovely. I’m glad I saw your wonderful poem this morning.

Leave a Reply

