Poetry on the Menu, by Debi Swim

Poetry on the Menu
by Debi Swim

When my soul’s a ’hungered
for sunshine and there’s only rain
or for rain and there’s only sunshine…
when my heart is starving for bill and coo
and you are far away
or when I need to rant and rage
against the wage of man’s sin
or feel ravenous for a gentler time,
famished for tranquility
midst this rat eat rat a tat incivility
I sate my appetite on syllables
sibilant, round, quiet, loud,
that tickle, sooth, incite, unbowed,
unashamed to ravish language
like an alchemist turning base
into gold, distilling the elixir of life.
I am replete, for you see,
“I’ve been eating poetry”

Editor’s note: Written in response to Prompt 49, Red Wolf Poems. “In your piece, reference a line of poetry. The line, “I’ve been eating poetry”, for instance. It is borrowed from Mark Strand’s “Eating Poetry”.”

Debi Swim writes primarily to prompts. She is a wife, mother, grandmother and happy WV poet.

3 thoughts on “Poetry on the Menu, by Debi Swim

  1. like an alchemist turning base
    into gold, distilling the elixir of life.
    I am replete, for you see,
    “I’ve been eating poetry”

    I love this closing – and your use of alchemy…it’s an intriguing process! Well done, Debi!

Leave a Reply

