Loss And Other Lessons, by Sanjeev Sethi

Loss and Other Lessons
by Sanjeev Sethi

Ma was in hospital
with a heart condition.
We: sister and I
were at a friend’s place.
Pa was at *daddy’s funeral.

I remember, sister and me,
sitting on the parapet.
Sun was about to set.
That is when first essence
of loss filtered in.
This was not like losing
a pouch of picayunes.
This was big time loss.
As though someone had
punched my solar plexus.
The heart felt hard.
I wasn’t even a teenager.

I remember her, my sister,
just about a teen, sitting
next to me. She seemed
much older, wiser, calmer.
I remember, looking at
her chocolate brown eyes,
looking at them for direction.
Her silence was palpable.
Finally she spoke:
“Don’t feel bad. Daddy is with God.”

Suddenly…
I was allayed of ache.
That sunset…
I learnt my first big lesson:
Trust.

*Daddy: Mother’s father.

Sanjeev Sethi has authored three books of poetry which includes This Summer and That Summer (Bloomsbury, 2015), widely published in several countries. He was recently in The Bitchin’ Kitsch, Futures Trading, The Aerogram, Revolution John, Chronogram, Duane’s Poe Tree, Sentinel Literary Quarterly, Ink Sweat and Tears, New English Review, The Galway Review, In Between Hangovers,  Otoliths, and elsewhere. He lives in Mumbai, India
Leave a Reply

