The Man with the Pierced Tongue, by A.J. Huffman

The Man with the Pierced Tongue
by A.J. Huffman

and receding hairline fixed my car, and I
suddenly felt more secure in my decision
to dye the ends of my hair aqua. At 42,
iterating such intentions draws caustic tsks
from friends and family who do not understand
my lack of connection with that number
or my outright refusal to let it sway me
from my desire to do things that, however strange,
make me feel more like me.

 

A.J. Huffman has published thirteen full-length poetry collections, fourteen solo poetry chapbooks and one joint poetry chapbook through various small presses. Her most recent releases, Degeneration (Pink Girl Ink), A Bizarre Burning of Bees (Transcendent Zero Press), and Familiar Illusions (Flutter Press) are now available from their respective publishers. She is a five-time Pushcart Prize nominee, a two-time Best of Net nominee, and has published over 2500 poems in various national and international journals, including Labletter, The James Dickey Review, The Bookends Review, Bone Orchard, Corvus Review, EgoPHobia, and Kritya. She is also the founding editor of Kind of a Hurricane Press. http://www.kindofahurricanepress.com.

One thought on “The Man with the Pierced Tongue, by A.J. Huffman

Leave a Reply

