A Sense of Balance, by Debi Swim

A Sense of Balance
by Debi Swim

All hail to the miseries when
things look black and bleak
when I lay myself upon a couch
and cover my head and feet
when the phone beeps and dingles
and I don’t even look to see
who might be calling to talk
I want to talk to nobody.

All hail to ecstasy when
my heart is lifted high
when I’m in love with everything
under the clear blue sky
when a glint of sunbeam
can make me happy cry
Oh, life is rosy tinted
when nothing goes awry.

Oh, misery and ecstasy
I need a little bit of both
for extremes can be nice
but to live there I am loath.
Give me just plain happiness
with a soupçon of dismay
a bit of equilibrium
to balance out the fray.

Written in response to Red Wolf Poems, Prompt 202.

Debi Swim writes primarily to prompts. She is a wife, mother, grandmother and happy WV poet. Blogs: https://georgeplaceblog.wordpress.com/
and https://debispoems.wordpress.com/

2 thoughts on “A Sense of Balance, by Debi Swim

Leave a Reply

