Hope, by Edilson Afonso Ferreira

Hope
by Edilson Afonso Ferreira

Who will write my life?
Who will weigh my sins
and all good perhaps have I had?
Who will pardon me for having existed
for so long, having changed for so little?
Will my witnesses honor me and tell
all the love I have spread by the way?
May I take till my last home all joy
I have been bathed by birth,
that life’s disillusions have never dried.
I know there has been an angel,
who has guided me, mainly
by those dark and strange nights.

Mr. Ferreira is a Brazilian poet who writes in English rather than Portuguese. Recent works have appeared in Red Wolf Journal, Right Hand Pointing, Creative Talents Unleashed (Featured Poet), Indiana Voice Journal, The Lake, Young Ravens, Whispers, Every Day Poems, Dead Snakes, The Basil O’Flaherty (Featured Poet), among others. Ferreira lives in a small town with wife, three sons and a granddaughter and, unhurried, is collecting his works for a forthcoming book. He began to write at age 63 (nine years ago), after retirement as a Bank Manager.

Leave a Reply

