Beneath the South Taurids, by Jared M. Gadsby

Beneath the South Taurids
by Jared M. Gadsby

Thinking of you again,
I realize that I have always been unfair
to those who love me.
I struggle to hold back parts of myself
like oak leaves in late autumn.

Too late I loosen and give
what is asked of me,
though my promises are dry by then
and made brittle by frost.

Naked and alone, I close myself
and wait for spring. That,
that is what is so unfair: in my greedy
restraint, I always anticipate
another spring.

Jared M. Gadsby lives in Lima, Peru and teaches writing and literature courses at a local university for one of Broward College’s international centers. He holds an MA from SUNY Oswego and finds time to write the occasional poem between teaching responsibilities and travel opportunities.

One thought on “Beneath the South Taurids, by Jared M. Gadsby

Leave a Reply

