My Heart Is A Crucible Of Light, by Elena Sands

My Heart Is A Crucible Of Light
by Elena Sands

Blue twilight frames your face
from the window above your bed.
My fingers trace contours,
weaving spells of sleep.

My heart is a crucible of light,
a maelstrom of surrender.

We poor devils in love,
how we spin.
We are storms of joy
in teacups and coffee mugs.

I catch raindrop seconds and die
over and over,
lying here watching you sleep,
sirens sing me stupid and blind
I don’t mind,
I never mind.

Maybe that’s what love is,
an extreme focus,
tunneled everything.
We wanderers in the dark
finally see the path.

I’ve found my home.
You are my home.

Originally from Texas, Elena Sands is currently a math teacher in Ohio. She’s been writing poems since first grade.

2 thoughts on “My Heart Is A Crucible Of Light, by Elena Sands

Leave a Reply

